Stewart Family in Catherington, Hants.

Discussion in 'Hampshire' started by Ma-dotcom, Jan 12, 2014.

1. Ma-dotcom

Ma-dotcom A Bonza Little Digger!

In looking to the STEWARTS of Catherington, Hampshire, I found the baptism of JAMES son of JOHN & ANN STEWART 20th May 1781.
    Followed his Family through to mine.

Probable sister, Jemima- 13 Apr. 1783- private, admitted to the Church 20 Apr 1783, Catherington Pts John & Ann.
    (This name repeated in James' Family)

Ria Stewart,10th Feb. 1776 pts John & Anne Stewart, --'of Lovedean'
    Catherington. (Same Parents or not, Ann/e.) perhaps too early,likely John & Anne Edney who wed in 1764.

In trying to find marriage of John & Ann (isn't everybody?)
    a possible but distant marriage is with JOHN STEWART + ANN LAWRANCE
    9 Feb 1775 - Trowbridge, Wiltshire.
    I have no knowledge of where John was born.

Should I then be trailing through 'Dioceses of the Province of Canterbury' records or is there another way? I've seen none in Sussex as yet but haven't checked marriage disc.

A burial for a John Stewart in Catherington in 1808 - no age given.

Any clues appreciated.

2. Blackmogs

Blackmogs Moderator. General Dogs(cats)body. Staff Member

I have been through the Wilts. FHS Marriage transcripts for Trowbridge Wedny and this marriage doesn't show up. My Hampshire marriage transcript 1754 to 1837 doesn't have a likely John Stewart and Ann apart from the one you mention. (Edney) The Surrey and Sussex MMarriage Indices don't have a likely pair. I cannot see anything obvious on the BMD database for non-conformists.

3. janetbooth

janetbooth Top Dog Stalwart